rose hair clips

rosebarrettes7_3413

I made some rose hair clips with wool felt for the auction at the spring fair at J’s school.  Some of these may also end up at a booth at a craft fair if I get brave this summer.

Here’s how I make them:

First, I cut a circle approximately 2″.  As you can see, I don’t worry about cutting a perfect circle; I think some irregularity adds to the charm.  Then, I cut the circle in a spiral, making the edge of the spiral slightly scalloped.  I don’t draw this ahead of time, I just do it as I cut.  Next, I roll the spiral starting from the outside edge, creating the rose.

rosebarrettes2_3413

Conveniently, there is a little circle at the end of the spiral that covers up the rolled up interior of the rose, and I put a dab of hot glue underneath that last flap to hold the rose together.  You could also use a couple of stitches.  Finally, I glue the roses to a barrette.

rosebarrettes1_3413

    A has claimed the pink barrette.

rosebarrettes6_3413

They also look cute on bobby pins.

rosebarrettes4_3413

(here’s a post on the flower hair bands)

5 thoughts on “rose hair clips

  1. Thank you so much for sharing. I made some single ones for my youngest grand-daughter that is lacking in the thick hair department. Now I am off to the store to get clips for my thick haired grand-daughter.

Leave a Reply

