little brown bag

littlebrownbag1_22713

My lovely aunt gave me some beautiful Madelintosh vintage in the Teddy Bear colorway.  I love crocheting with this wool – it’s so “round” if you know what I mean.  I decided to make a little bag to carry my wallet, keys and phone, for when I’m traveling light (aka without kids).

I chained 17 and then just crocheted in a continuous circle around the chain until the bag was the length I wanted.  Then I crocheted back and forth in rows to make the flap, skipping a couple of stitches in the second-to-last row to make the button hole.  For the strap, I made a chain long enough to go across my shoulder.  Then, I switched to an E hook and I crocheted a row of single crochets with red crochet thread into the chain, and then I switched back to my regular (I) hook and single crocheted back along the strap.  I sewed the strap in at either end to the bag and even thought I was trying SO hard not to twist the strap, I still managed to twist it!!  Oh, well.  Maybe I will take it off and re-attach it (or most likely I will be too lazy!)

At the bottom of the bag in the front, I doubled a length of crochet thread and stitched a row of french knots and then a row of running stitch above it.  I like how it gives just a little contrast, but not too much.  I lined the bag with some very pretty fabric I got a long time ago to make a dress for A, but now she’s grown so much there’s probably not enough anymore to make her a dress.  It’s Rouenneries by French General for Moda.

J and I are reading Little Town on the Prairie.  We just finished reading about the spelling bee and he loved all those long words and Pa winning the bee.

Yarning along with Ginny today.

littlebrownbag2_22713

4 thoughts on “little brown bag

Leave a Reply

