quick kerchief

kerchief1_22113

This was a fun little project that took just a couple of hours to make.  I started with a basic triangle of double crochet in the Soft Violet color of Lily Sugar n’ Cream yarn, using this pattern, but I did not  make the sides, because I thought they would bother A being so thick behind her ears.  Instead, I made the triangle a couple of rows larger, and then I made chained ties on either side.  I chained 24, which is just enough to tie, but I think if I make this again, I’ll make them a little longer – maybe 34 or 36.  Instead of doing the slip-stitched edge in the pattern, I did a row of single crochet around the edge, with a finer (dk weight) pink yarn, and then I did a small scallop, which was sl in first sc, then 3sc in the next sc, around.  I left just the sc along the top edge, without the scallop, so it wouldn’t be so fussy around A’s face.  I added a small flower and leaf using dk weight yarn (a combo of Paton’s Grace and Tahki Cotton Classic) and an E hook.  Here’s the pattern for the flower and leaf:

SMALL FLOWER:
Ch 4; join with a sl stitch to form a ring.
Ch 1; 11 sc in ring; join to first ch1 with a sl. Fasten off.
With second color, join to a sc.
Ch 1, hdc, dc, hdc, sc in the same stitch.  Sl in the next stitch.  In the next stitch, {sc, hdc, dc, hdc, sc; sl in next sc} continue around until 6 petals are formed; sl into the first stitch.
Fasten off and weave in ends.

LEAF:
Ch7.
Sc in second ch from hook.
Hdc in next stitch.
Dc in next two stitches.
Sc in next stitch.
Sl in last stitch; fasten off and weave in ends.

Spring is still a long ways off here, but looking at A wearing this makes me feel like it really is coming!

kerchief2_22113

Leave a Reply

